Prof. David Weisburd

Prof. David Weisburd
Institute of Criminology. Walter E. Meyer chair in law and criminal justice
02-5882507; 02-5883291

David Weisburd is the Walter E. Meyer Professor of Law and Criminal Justice.  He is also a Distinguished Professor of Criminology, Law and Society at George Mason University and a Senior Fellow at the Police Foundation.  Professor Weisburd is an elected  Fellow of the American Society of Criminology and of the Academy of Experimental Criminology.  He is a member of the steering committee of the Campbell Crime and Justice Group, and a member of the National Academy of Sciences (US) Research Council Committee on Crime Law and Justice.  He is also President of the Israeli Society of Criminology and Chair of the Research Advisory Committee of the Israeli Corrections Authority.  He received his Ph.D. from Yale University, where he was a Research Associate at Yale Law School, and also served as Senior Research Associate at the Vera Institute of Justice in New York and Associate Professor and Director of the Center for Crime Prevention Studies at Rutgers University, and Professor of Criminology at the University of Maryland.  Professor Weisburd is author or editor of more than 25 books and more than 150 scientific articles that cover a wide range of criminal justice research topics, including crime at place, violent crime, white collar crime, policing, illicit markets, criminal justice statistics and social deviance.  Professor Weisburd was the Founding  Editor of the Journal of Experimental Criminology and is now the Editor of the Journal of Quantitative Criminology.  In 2010 Professor Weisburd was the recipient of the Stockholm Prize in Criminology, and also the Minister's Prize for Distinguished Immigrant Scientists.  In 2011 he received the Klachky Family Prize for Advances on the Frontiers of Science, and in 2014 he received the Robert Boruch Award for Contributions to Research that Informs Public Policy (Campbell Collaboration), the Jerry Lee Lifetime Achievement Award (Division of Experimental Criminology Award, ASC), and the Sutherland Award (ASC) for "outstanding contributions to the field of criminology