The 2018 Faculty of Law Honorees Award

September 16, 2018
The 2018 Faculty of Law Honorees Award

The Honorees Award Ceremony of Hebrew University's Faculty of Law was held for the sixth year  on September 5th 2018.

Two distinguished graduates of the faculty were awarded the prestigious award:  Supreme Court President Emeritus Miriam Naor (class of 1971) and Advocate Moriel Matalon (class of 1970).

Senior members of the Israeli law landscape, including Supreme Court President Esther Hayut, Supreme Court justices, senior lawyers from Israel's largest firms and academics were present at the event. Faculty Dean Prof. Michael Krayanni and Prof. Yitzhak Zamir, former Supreme Court Justice and Dean of the Faculty, awarded the honorees with their certificates. Prof. Zamir was also notably a teacher of Naor and Matalon during their studies at the Faculty.

The prize committee was chaired by Dr. David Tadmor and included Prof. Yuval Shany and Prof. Yoav Dotan of the Faculty of Law.

Also at the ceremony, Attorney Pini Rubin, head of the firm at Gornitzky & Co., announced the establishment of a scholarship fund for students at the faculty, to be named after Hagar Alon-Windman, a graduate of the faculty and an esteemed partner in Gornitzky's office, who passed away of a serious illness five years ago.